I Can’t Believe I’m Saying This…I’m On Miley’s Side.

It’s been a few weeks since the whole Miley Cyrus-VMA’s debacle and I wanted to voice somethings before I get totally bored with it. I think it was really interesting to see the backlash of the performance. There were a lot of different theory’s going around about it. Feminists backed her up. Conservatives slut shamed. Race was brought up questioning if it was an issue of commodification & accessorizing of black women. I read a lot of theories but I don’t feel that there was enough of what I am thinking: Miley Cyrus is a bad performer and should never sing again in a setting like that…ever.

Raise your hand if you want me to stop!

I watched the VMA performance, I wasn’t impressed. I’ve heard Cyrus sing before in a small, acoustic setting and she was alright. Not my cup of tea but she has a fair voice. The fact of it is–she just isn’t that strong of a performer. She was off key, out of breath, unable to keep tempo and instead worked the shock-and-awe factor of the performace. Compare Cyrus to Beyoncé, Gaga and Minaj–three women who are equally scantily clothed, who have gyrated during a concert and possibly stuck their tongues out for people to see–and Cyrus misses the mark. The difference is: The Holy Trinity are  good at entertaining, they can sing, dance, & perform! Cyrus on the other hand, can’t do any of that. She should stick to small venues where she can work on her voice.

I guess the big annoying thing about this whole thing is that we couldn’t look at the performance as an isolated incident. So she bombed-big deal! Instead, Cyrus’s failure became a negative reflection upon an entire gender. That is so annoying. Fo’ realz.

About Indigenous Lit

I am a hybrid Navajo living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I'm interested in Native issues and hope to present a different perspective of the world using my glorious sense of humor and lack of shame.

Leave a comment

humbleexperience

Just another WordPress.com site

By Common Consent, a Mormon Blog

The greatest Mormon blog in the universe.

Fugitive Fragments

by Mike McGuire

Pure Coincidence Magazine

Magazine for Flash Fiction, Prose Poetry, & Art!

Brooks Family Adventure

Go. Discover. Feel Better.

Hey from Japan- or wherever the moving van arrives- Emily Cannell

Moving a Family When Everyone is Held Tightly in the Grips of Puberty or Menopause

Becoming Cliche

My Journey to Becoming My Mother